College: Quick Tips

Welcome to the new semester! In the heat of the moment, literally and figuratively, I decided to write a quick tip article. This is a new series that I am going to be bringing to my blog, just as a way to share a few of the biggest tips I wish I was told before starting college. Enjoy!

 

1.) Make a schedule and stick to it. 

One thing I learned after my first year of college, was that having a solid game plan for the day is something that is almost a necessity. Go out and get yourself a planner (this one is affordable, durable, and spiral bound) and jot down what assignments you have due on certain days, extracurricular activities, sports, work schedule, etc. Before the use of my planner, I vividly remember feeling lost and panicked almost every waking hour I was on campus. So, do yourself a favor, and get organized. Organization is a great tool in providing the perfect amount of self-help we all need in our lives. 

2.) Wear whatever you feel comfortable in. 

You don’t need to be dressed to the nines everyday. I have had my fair share of trying on many outfits before deciding on one that I only mildly liked; also having mini breakdown sessions before class because what I wore didn’t feel comfortable outside of my room. I’m not saying that I am anywhere near comfortable with everything I wear on/around campus, but its a work in progress. Being mentally and physically comfortable in your attire is crucial to having a day run smoothly. You can rock sweats and a t-shirt, a dress, shorts and a tank, a cute romper, etc. Just remember that you being confident is what makes you attractive and empowering – not the clothing you wear. 

3.) Take into account how you spend your downtime. 

It is virtually impossible to not see a phone being utilized around campus. I know the first thing a great majority of people pick up first after a lecture is over, is their phone. Now, I am one to scroll through social media a few times daily, but lately I have humored the idea of deleting almost all of my media accounts. There has not been a day where someone hasn’t asked if I saw what he/she posted or if I follow who-knows-who – it gets a little suffocating. A few things I like to do while on campus instead of spend a copious amount of time on my mobile device is to walk and listen to some great tunes. It feels great to focus on the world around me – I spent so long taking this beautiful campus for granted. Taking a breather from social media is a great way to help reset and reevaluate the important things in your life.

4.) Put your mental and physical health above all.

My first semester in college was a rough one; I often forgot to eat and I let myself dwindle away into practically nothing. There were many times where I would find myself sobbing in the library bathroom and question if this was really where I wanted to be. I chose to just tough it out and continue to go on in a major I was not content with, and that really took a toll on my life at the time.

Yes, academia is the main goal while attending college, however this isn’t a time to push aside your own well-being. Take the necessary measures to preserve or expand the positive aspects pertaining to your mental and physical health. It’s also a million percent acceptable to ask for help or assistance. Meet with your advisor or if your college provides free counseling take the time to shoot an email to them, or go in person. There are so many people on and off campus willing to help you be the best that you can be, give advice, and to help alleviate some of the stressors you may be experiencing. 

5.) Utilize the services your college has to offer. 

I recently was placed as a peer editor in my schools writing center, and before that I would gladly revise papers from peers if they asked. I am no where near being considered a decent writer, but I refused to not accept a position I dreamt of having since finding out about it last year. These writing centers are a great tool for everyone that write papers, especially incoming freshman who may still be uncertain how to properly write on a collegiate level.

Since I am also a clinical psychology major with a minor in counseling, I am an advocate for the counseling services available for students on campus. The counseling is totally free of charge AND confidential. Not only may it help you get some of the weight off from your shoulders, it helps the psychology majors fulfill mandatory hours. It is a win, win for both parties. Take the time to check out what your college has to offer you. They are not here to shun you, but to help you become the best person that you possible can be.

 

**aside from this article I am always available to talk about anything and everything. I like to believe that my advice is pretty decent.**

Leave a comment