Style: Are Trousers the New Jean?

In the mid of the winter it seems to be the most critical time to plan out the upcoming spring season. Browsing through my favorite fashion blogs, I have come to love the looks that are: Paper Bag Pants and Oxford trousers. Those who may not know what Paper Bag Pants are; well welcome to the new fashion of 2018/2019 (remember this sentence – for I have a great feeling I will be accurate in saying this now).

The only difficulty that I am facing when trying to acquire this fashion: I cannot for the life of me find these damn pants. The mainstream clothing outlets nearby don’t seem to carry these bad boys – even though I have seen them on the website and in other locations an hour or so away. This struggle won’t deter me from the prize, but bring more ambition to the table.

With this wanting to discover my sense of fashion, and simply try to become comfortable in my own skin, I am looking forward to seeing how someone as tall as I am, will look in these. Running thoughts of:

What if I look like a giraffe?

Do these make my ass look decent? 

Is the space between my ankles and shoes too much of a gap? 

Am I developing cankles? 

All these preoccupy and inflict little bursts of doubt when thinking of potentially conquering what I actually would love to see on myself. This is the year of figuring out my fashion, traveling, and becoming more comfortable with who I am as a whole. So, naturally I decided to begin with appearance – a very typical starting point for someone who obsesses about what they look like.

To begin, where I currently shop. As a broke college kid who has had their hours slashed by more than 75%, it is critical to save up as much as humanly possible. Yes, I am broke… No, I do not mooch off of my parents; instead I work hard at my job and make as much as I can within the hours I am scheduled for. Currently, I am working on finding a second job in order to pay off a few loans/bills, hopefully saving up for an apartment by next year.

Anyways, to get the most bang for my buck, I tend to shop at the more mainstream outlets: Forever 21, H&M, a few local thrift stores with great deals and generous discounts weekly, my mothers closet ( yes we both share the same style and thankfully her old mom jeans fit me), and Target.

Here I have included some of my current obsessions. Clearly, I am hoping to run into a few pairs like these over the course of the next month or so.

Oxford Trousers

    Olivia Palermo

 Cooperative Skinny Check Trousers in Black - Urban Outfitters

What captured my attention was the gap between the ankle and the pant. It gives off this edgy vibe that I very much so, intensely crave.

Wear these with an unused  pair of oxford shoes that I never wore back in my high-school days – BAM! Perfect outfit, indeed. Also, STRIPES. Do I have to say more? Maybe my inner love for Beetlejuice comes out, but they really do slim down – look wise – my legs.
Image result for forever 21 2000249128Image result for forever 21 2000249128
 Onto the Paper Bag Pants:
The first shown below is from Top Shop (one can dream right?) But I am digging the whole pastel pink and darker greens this year.
   MS43R41VPLE_Zoom_M_1.jpg hmprod.jpg
       I cannot wait to start looking around for a few of these. I don’t prefer to shop online since I am pretty tall and most things tend to not fit how they are meant to. Now, have you fancied this trend? or are you more likely to stay away from it? I say… take the challenge and go for it – whether it be rocking a sweater from the 70s or those mom jeans – just go for it.

Leave a comment